Skip to content

Nothing Is Wasted EP releases

March 26, 2013

ImageToday Centricity released the Nothing Is Wasted EP as an iTunes exclusive (you can get it here!). It features the radio remix of “Nothing Is Wasted” as well as 4 tracks that were originally part of the Special Edition of A Way To See In The Dark: “Nothing Is Wasted (solo piano version),” “Before I’ve Done Anything,” “Love Is Rebuilding Us,” and “The Angel Of Your Presence”.

I wrote a piece for the Rabbit recently about the decision to do a remix (you can read that here). The gist of it is that Centricity believed in the song and wanted to release it to radio, though they were concerned that the album version didn’t feel like a radio single.

I was so grateful for their belief in this song that I was happy—with a few reservations—to explore the idea of a remix with them. When it was suggested that we bring my friend Ben Shive on board (producer for Andrew Peterson, JJ Heller, etc), my reservations were laid to rest. I think that Ben did an outstanding job of delivering a fresh vision of the song while preserving the spirit of the original.

I hope you like it.

And I’m so grateful that it appears that radio likes it! It was thought the song was a bit of a long shot as a radio single, but because of the belief in the heart of the song Centricity moved forward with it–a risk that now seems justified as more radio stations are adding it quicker than any of my previous singles. So far it’s being received enthusiastically, and I couldn’t be more grateful about all of it. This was always an important song to me, and when we made the record it was the one that I most hoped would have a chance to be heard.

We also got to make a video with my friend Doug McKelvey (who directed “Remind Me Who I Am”) that should be up really soon! (while you wait, there is a lyric video here)

Centricity decided to take the bonus songs from the Special Edition and make them a part of this EP—An idea I liked, hoping it will give songs like “The Angel Of Your Presence” (written with Doug McKelvey) more chances to get heard.

Meanwhile, I’m hard at work writing new songs and trying to get ready for making a new record this summer! So far, it seems like the theme of “Nothing Is Wasted” will carry over into the next family of songs. I spent time finishing a song today called “Love Will Have The Final Word”–kind of a sister song to “Nothing Is Wasted.” I’m excited to sing some new songs and am so grateful that you’re listening.

If your station is playing “Nothing Is Wasted,” I’d be grateful if you let them know that you appreciate it!

Nothing Is Wasted EP available here

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2013 4:49 pm

    I’m still waiting on the local station, but I hear K-love is playing it–yay!
    I am very excited for this song and how it is taking off like this. It is not your normal CCM song, but that makes it all the better. There’s more depth to the lyrics than the majority of the songs played these days.
    Congratulations!

  2. July 28, 2013 11:47 am

    The first time I ever heard you play was in a small living room in Northome, MN way back when your first son was less than a year old. I have been following you ever since. it was a great treat to see you back in northern MN last night in Bagley MN. You have come a long way. And, those 3 new band mates were great .. could not tell that you guys have never played together before.

    The depth of your songs has always struck my heart with awe … and the new songs you gave us a sneak peak at last night … even more so.
    When is the new album with those songs being released (I have all the others – looking for more ;-) )
    Thanks for a great concert. …. Maureen

  3. September 21, 2013 5:22 pm

    Hey Jason, I’ve been following your message and music since I first heard “Remind Me Who I Am” and “More Like Falling in Love”. Somewhere you said (writing, YouTube..) that you felt like the sin problem was more rooted in identity than rebellion. This is also what God has been showing me. I almost got a chance to see you in concert in Idaho Falls, my home town. Was so bummed when it got cancelled!

    Blessings to you,
    Linda

  4. November 10, 2013 9:41 am

    Hi Jason,
    I had the opportunity to see you and SCC and Laura Story in Midlothian, VA. Awesome night! We play your music all the time for the young women who are part of our ministry here in Central VA. Thank you for writing and singing music that reminds us of Whose we are!
    Dancing in Him,
    Katy Pistole
    Executive Director of Beautiful Brokenness Ministries
    http://www.BeautifulBrokenness.org

  5. April 24, 2014 9:57 am

    jason, thank you for the beautiful, soulful music you made. when we returned from overseas, “a way to see in the dark” was comfort from Above. thank you. i wanted to youtube this song and another to someone overseas but i can’t. the advertisements before your songs … tv shows premieres were of questionable content. it does not go with you. if u have songs uploaded without these ads, please let me know.
    grace n peace to you … keep making music please. thank you.

    • April 24, 2014 10:03 am

      ps sometimes the ads come on … sometimes they don’t. anyway … it is abt a raunchy teacher tv show premiere…. hope that helps.

      • April 24, 2014 10:20 am

        Yeah… I know this happens. Unfortunately we don’t have any say in the ad content. I apologize. It’s disheartening and frustrating to me, too. However, the ads are always changing and the questionable ad content you saw has probably run it’s course. Youtube is supposed to pair the right kind of ad content with the right kind of song, and since my music is delineated as Christian they shouldn’t be putting those kind of ads up front, but every once in a while I guess something gets through.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 68 other followers

