Skip to content

A Dozen Roses

December 14, 2007

File-7

Today is my anniversary.  I’ve been married to the lovely Taya Gray for 16 years, and still can’t believe my good fortune.  She’s as beautiful as she is intelligent, and she’s my most ardent supporter.

I’m back on the road with Michael Card and we’re driving to Colorado through a snowstorm in a bus.  Last night we played in Little RockAR.  We got unloaded early enough that we had an hour to kill, so we went to the church gymnasium and played kickball – a rare break in our schedule!

When we returned for soundcheck, I found a surprise waiting for me – a dozen roses sent by my wife and a sweet note.

On the tour bus, we’ve talked often about the demands our lifestyle puts on relationships.  Michael Card talked about research done that shows after 9 days apart from each other, your marriage suffers some damage (which is why he tries to only go out 4 – 5 days at a time).

At my level of notoriety, it’s not always an option for me to order my schedule as I’d like – I need to be out as often as I can to make a living and I’m gone from home for 3 – 4 weeks at a time.  It makes it challenging to nurture a good marriage, and it surely takes a toll, but I was reminded again today of what marriage at it’s best is: a choice to love in the face of these kind of challenges.  I was reminded today of my wife’s commitment to daily choose to love me, and to make sure I know it.

I put the vase of roses on stage during the show.

Now I just have to figure out how to keep them alive on a bus full of guys. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

