Skip to content

Birthdays, Buses, Chats and more

September 23, 2008

 

Gus turns 5

Gus turns 5

In this update: Chat with me on my message boards, life/tour update, Downhere, & Gus.

Whew, it’s been a busy couple of weeks, so I’ve been slow to bring updates. I’ve been out on the “What Life Would Be Like” tour with Big Daddy Weave and Rush Of Fools and it’s been great. We’ve enjoyed a great turnout for the shows and their audience has generously received me. I’ve spent the few days off the road in Nashville squeezing in every writing appointment I can. I’ve had some great writing sessions with my friends Andy Gullahorn, Andrew Peterson, Ben Shive, Nate Sabin, and Chad Cates. We’ve made some good progress and in fact just yesterday I played all the songs I’m working on for my A&R man at Centricity (John Mays) and he was very enthusiastic and encouraging about the way the songs are shaping up. So the wheels are rolling and we’re setting our sights on the next record!

Ben Shive called me yesterday and invited me to jump on the bus with him and Andrew Peterson and friends (Jill Phillips, Andy Osenga, Cason Cooley, etc.) for a trip they’re making to Atlanta to do a taping of their Christmas songs for the Gospel Music Channel. It’s been a long time since I had a day off, so I’m hopping on the bus to just hang out and enjoy the company of some great artists who I love and respect.

But it’s a big day today and I wanted to take a moment and let you know why. First of all, it’s my little boy Gus’s birthday! He turns 5 today. I got to do a little video chat with him this morning, and though I’m sad to not be there with him, I’m grateful that I get to fly home for a couple days next week for his birthday party. I can’t wait. I asked him how he was doing and he said, “good. I got to eat some Lucky Charms for my birthday breakfast.” I asked if he was having a good day and he said, “I’m a little sad.” “Why?” I asked. “Because I want to be four. I don’t want to be five.” “Hmmmm,” I said, “I know how you feel, sometimes I don’t like getting older either, but just think, getting older means you can do more things. You’ll learn how to ride bike this year. Pretty soon you can open your own checking account and rent cars and stuff like that.” He was mildly encouraged. He was probably just coming down from the Lucky Charms sugar high.

There’s another birthday today, too, and that is the birth of the new record for my friends from Downhere. Their new album, “Ending is Beginning”, releases today and you owe it to yourself to check it out. It’s epic with most songs feeling like soaring anthems. I think it’s their best work yet with great songs like “Hope Is Rising”, “My Last Amen”, “Bleed”, and a full record of other great songs. Smart writing, incredible musicianship, and two of the most distinctive voices in Christian music all come together and you end up with music that is heady, fun, and has a lot of heart. Seriously, go check it out: www.downhere.com

File-11

And lastly, I hope you’ll come and chat with me tomorrow night! We’ve rescheduled my chat session and I will be online chatting with friends, fans, and anyone else who shows up (hopefully that means you!) tomorrow from 7 – 7:30PM ish CST (that’s 8PM for you East coasters and 5PM for you West coasters)

The chat will be taking place on my message board at http://www.jasongraymusic.com/site.php?content=message_board

You will need to sign up on the message board to participate. The board where the chat will take place will be in the forum “Chat With Jason”. It will be closed until 7pm CST when we will open it for the chat. The forum is currently under construction, but will be up and running for the chat tomorrow.

I look forward to talking with you about the new record, the current tour, handbag accessories, the virtues of Lucky Charms and other cereals or whatever else you’d like to talk about. So sign up now! C’mon, all the cool people are doing it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

