Skip to content

Catching up…

November 20, 2008

 

Final night of the tour with Big Daddy Weave, Rush Of Fools, and the rest of the crew

Final night of the tour with Big Daddy Weave, Rush Of Fools, and the rest of the crew

Hello all,

Sorry I’ve been quieter than usual with my journal posts, but I hope you’ll be happy to know that it’s for a good reason.

I’ve been hard at work on the road with Big Daddy Weave and Rush Of Fools since September 10th and Sunday was the final show.  It’s been a great run where we’ve met a lot of new fans along the way and I’ve enjoyed my new friendships with my road mates, and it was sad to say goodbye, but it’s also good to be home.  We wrapped up in ShreveportLA, then the bus drove through the night and dropped us off in Birmingham where I began my drive home.  20 hours and 7 states later I crawled into my own bed for a few hours before Gus was jumping on me trying to get me to wake up and play Wii Batman with him. 

When I wasn’t on the road, I spent any off days in Nashville writing for the next record.  We’ve got 12 songs finished and about 8 more that are close.  I’ve been blessed to write with some great writers I respect like Gordon Kennedy (who wrote Clapton’s “Change Your World”), Andy Gullahorn (one of my biggest songwriting heroes), Andy Osenga (of Caedmon’s Call), Don Chaffer (of Waterdeep), and Jason Ingram (who has 4 of his songs on the charts this week.  Sheesh!) among others.  

We also met with some different producers and are starting to dream about what the next record is going to be.  It looks like we’re aiming to record in March with the record being done by June and released in October.  I’m starting to get excited about it and am anxious to get out there with the new songs!  As I venture out on non-tour dates where I can play a longer set, I plan to start bringing some of the new songs out for road-testing.

In the meantime, we’re working on bolstering my on-line community!  We’ve totally re-organized my message boards and would like to invite you to join the conversations currently going on there.  The most popular thread has been the “Ask Jason A Question” and we’re starting a new one where we invite people to be a part of a book discussion.  It’s kind of like Oprah’s book club, only it’s me and I’m taller and don’t have my own magazine and TV show.  ☺

We’re dipping our toe in the pool by starting with a 15 page piece from Frederick Buechner’s book “Secrets In The Dark” called “Faith & Fiction”.  It’s a short enough piece that anyone can be involved, and you can check the book out from the library without even having to buy it, so ultimately there are no excuses for you to not participate.  C’mon, readers are leaders!

Seriously, Buechner has been my favorite author for years and there have been many times when his writing has brought my faith back to life.  I’m excited to talk about him with you, so please join us – it’s easy and fun.  Just go to the board section to join the message boards and then join the conversation called The Jason Gray Book Club.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

