Skip to content

Catching Up

January 19, 2009

File
Hello friends!  Sorry I’ve been absent here for a bit.  I decided to take some time off during the Christmas season and then after that have been hard at work writing for my next record which we plan to record this Spring.  When you don’t hear from me here, chances are good that I’m getting a lot done on other fronts,

But I wanted to check in and let you know a little of what’s happening here.  Besides working on new songs Taya and I have been spending some much needed time with our boys, and it’s been great!  This was the first year in several that I was home on my birthday and I enjoyed every moment of it with my boys.

I’ve written a number of blogs for other sites and they’re in the queue, so you’ll have plenty of content coming from me as soon as they’re posted, but here at the beginning of the new year, I thought I’d share a Gray family tradition with you in hopes that it will be as useful to you as it is to us.  At the start of every year we try to write ourselves a letter that is also a prayer.  In it we talk about our hopes, fears, longings and frustrations with ourselves, our lives, etc.  We detail what it appears to be that the Lord is doing in our lives at this moment, the obstacles that lay ahead that make us anxious, and what we hope the new year holds.

Then, of course, at the end of the year we open up the letter and read it to ourselves.  In it we always see the hand of God as we are reminded of where we were, what we were afraid of, how we were carried through it, how we were changed even though most of the time in the moment we were unaware of the changing.  These letters are both a way of marking our journey and in some sense of seeing the future.  When we write now, it is with anticipation of how what we pray for now will reveal it’s answer by year’s end.  Our lives get so busy and spread thin that if it’s true as Socrates said that “the unexamined life isn’t worth living” then it’s no wonder so many of  us long for meaning.  This simple letter is a way taking back our own journey and discovering again that our life is a story with a plot, meaning, and of course an Author.

It’s easy, it doens’t have to be pretty or long, it just has to be honest.  Write it as though no one else will read it, and then send it into the future by sealing it until January 1st, 2010.  I need to write mine this week, I hope some of you will too!

I’ll let you know when some of my new blogs start getting posted, and of course thank you for reading.  Don’t forget to check out the message boards, too – I’m on there all the time and we’re really excited about the “Questions For Jason” thread and our little book discussions – come join us!

Just for fun, I’ll leave you with this great little video I found that brightened my day.

Blessings,

Jason Gray

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

