Skip to content

Real Time Updates on Recording this Week

March 30, 2009

File-10Hello all,

I’ve been overdue on an update, but it’s only because there’s been so much happening that I haven’t had a spare moment to write.  What is it that’s happening? Well that’s exactly what I’m writing to tell you about. We’re right in the middle of recording my new record – my most ambitious record to date – with producer Jason Ingram (whose credits include Bebo Norman, Tenth Avenue NorthBrandon Heath, Michael W. Smith and others.)

So far the record is shaping up to be that rare combination of my most commercial and yet personal project I’ve ever done, thanks in part to Jason as well as all of the great writers I’ve been blessed to write this record with and the team at Centricity Music whe are guiding it.  I can’t wait for you to hear the music we’re making for you and I’m eager to get it out there and see how far it can run.  

Meanwhile, I want to let you in on the recording process, so I’ve set up a place on my message boards to give you all real-time updates on what’s happening in the studio, song choices, lyrics, personal insights, and to invite you to be a part of the conversation.  Go to my message boards and look in the “Lounge” area, or just click here.  This Monday – Friday we’ll be recording the rest of the record, so stop by regularly this week to see what’s happening.

To tide you over until the new record releases, if you haven’t had a chance to check out my “made for fans” record Acoustic Storytime, it’s available in my store and on itunes.  I was grateful for recent mentions in Christianity Today and Worship Leader magazine who graciously wrote: “Jason Gray is refreshingly honest, wonderfully funny, terrifyingly transparent and gently confrontive.”

Acoustic Storytime has become the little record that could.  Released on a shoestring budget and put together as a smaller, personal record solely for fans, it is consistently getting some of the best reviews I’ve ever had – in spite of the fact that we released it under the radar and only began giving it to reviewers when they started asking for it.  Who knew?

I wouldn’t be making music or doing the work I do if no one were listening, so I’m grateful to you for listening.  It’s my privilege to be making music for you.

Jason Gray

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

