Skip to content

A Tale Of Two Songs (Plus 3)

August 13, 2009
I just posted a piece in the Rabbit Room about the challenge of writing “Everything Sad Is Coming Untrue”- all 5 times I wrote it! Read it here

An excerpt:
During a Q&A session at a songwriter’s retreat several years ago, I asked Pierce Pettis, one of the greatest singer/songwriters of our time, how to know when to let go of an idea that seems to refuse to be reeled in. His answer was not to worry about it, that the best ideas won’t let go of you. I went home and later that week finished a song that had been evading me for years. Since then, I’ve tried to pay attention to the ideas that seem like they won’t let go of me…

Read the rest here

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

