Skip to content

2 Songs Of The Week: Everything Sad Is Coming Untrue Parts 2 & 3

August 18, 2009

The Song of the Week for this week is “Everything Sad Is Coming Untrue (Part 2)” (hear it on the myspace music player). I wrote a recent blog in the rabbit room about this song, the challenges in writing it, and why there is a part 1 and a part 2 on this record. If you missed it, you can read that blog here: http://www.rabbitroom.com/?p=3383

I wrote ESICU Part 2 with Andy Osenga, an accomplished singer/songwriter and sometime member of Caedmon’s Call. This was a hard song to write, but he hung in there with me and it’s one of my favorite songs on the record, as well as one of the few songs I’ve been a part of that can make me cry when I hear it. Writing a song is kind of like making up a joke – you already know the punchline, so you’re not likely to laugh. But when something that you’ve been a part of creating and know inside and out can still take you by surprise and evoke a reaction like tears… well that is a rare thing. And a gift.

I wrote the song and recorded it mostly for me, assuming it wouldn’t mean much to anyone else. But I’ve been pleasantly surprised to learn that those who’ve heard the record count this track among their favorites.

As I’ve mentioned elsewhere, we’re releasing a special edition of the record that includes a bonus disc of 9 songs as well as a 32 page booklet with writings from yours truly. Today I wanted to include in my posting a preview of a snapshot of the booklet spread for Part 2 as well as one of the bonus songs.


Preview of part of the Special Edition booklet

I wrote “Everything Sad Is Coming Untrue” a total of 5 times! 2 of them made the official record, and 2 more are included on the bonus disc. I’m posting “Everything Sad Is Coming Untrue Part 3” that I wrote with Randall Goodgame this week to give you a taste of what’s on the bonus disc. I recorded this in Minneapolis with my friend Matt Patrick. We had enough of a budget for an acoustic guitar and vocal version but, like he always does, he made magic happen and somehow stretched the budget to turn this track into a full blown demo style recording complete with drums, bass, electric and more. I hope you like it! I always loved the chorus of this version and I’m happy that it will see the light of day on the special edition of the record.

If you haven’t heard, you can also get the Deluxe edition that comes with the Special Edition plus an exclusive T-shirt and custom hand crank music box that plays ESICU Part 1. Find out more at jasongraymusic.com

More news coming soon!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 15, 2009 11:24 pm

    A friend of mine sent me your URL in an email, she said that I’d really like it – and I do!

    Peace!

Leave a Reply

