Skip to content

The New JasonGrayMusic.com launches (and stories from the road)

August 31, 2009
Welcome to my new site!  Hope you like the new look and feel of Jasongraymusic.com. I think this is my favorite website of mine yet – the guys at otterball did a great job.  Thanks, too, to Rebekah, our internet guru at Centricity who has worked hard to oversee this site and get it online in time. There are some new features, like the narration button above.  Take your shoes off, stay awhile, look around – I hope you have fun here at my new home on the web.
As you read this, Josh Petersen, manager of marketing and promotion at Centricity Music, and I are driving around the country in a rental car playing 12 free concerts in the 13 days leading up to the national release date of my new record, “Everything Sad Is Coming Untrue”.
This little tour has been great and we’ve made a lot of new friends as we started in Augusta, GA and made our way north back to Minneapolis, MN.  Each night I’ve played through almost the entire album, but more than a night of music, we’ve explored themes of confession, renewal, and redemption in hopes of finding evidences of God reclaiming the worst and saddest that happens to us, redeeming it, and making it untrue by disarming it’s power to define our lives.
Each night I’ve shared the story of Emmanuel, a young man I met from Rwanda who as a boy saw his father murdered during the genocide there.  His life – once defined by hurt and hatred – was transformed by the love of God when he gave his heart to Jesus Christ, and as a young man when he finally found the man who killed his father, instead of acting on his vow of vengeance, he tracked him down to forgive him and befriend him. They are friends to this day.  Through an amazing set of circumstances, Emmanuel was also commissioned by the King of Rwanda to re-write their national anthem, an anthem now about forgiveness and reconciliation.  Of course none of this changes the sad fact that his father was murdered when he was 12, but by God’s grace the hurt and hatred no longer define his life, and the tragedy has given way to a beautiful story. Everything sad coming untrue, indeed.
We’ve had some good laughs, too, as I’ve introduced concert attendees to stories of my little Gus and the rest of my family.  Josh has been great – he booked the whole tour and is taking good care of me on the road.  He listens to too much country music, but other than that he’s great.  The last time we were on the road together he subjected me to speeches by Ronald Reagan that he has on his iPod, but thankfully political speeches have been kept to a minimum on this trip  (nothing against President Reagan, he was a fine man and model citizen).  Josh has also been making me take my vitamins everyday to keep me from getting sick.  He did make me help him shave his head, though.  Awkward.
We stopped to see the arch in St. Louis and sat on top of Chicago in the Signature Room atop the Hancock building.  It’s been a good little adventure (you can check out our video blogs here (link to my youtube), but I’ll be happy to get home for a few days with my family before going out again with Sanctus Real and Phil Wickham.
Hope to see you soon, if you’ve read this far, thanks so much for caring.  (my journals are now designed for you to leave comments if you like, and I hope you will!).
PS – special thanks to everyone who hosted these concerts:
WAFJ, WCLN, WCVK, WIBI, WBGL, Shine.FM (WONU), Adonai Fest, Waukesha First Assembly, WEMI, WGNV, and Westwood Community Church.

website snapshotWelcome to my new site!  Hope you like the new look and feel of Jasongraymusic.com. I think this is my favorite website of mine yet – the guys at otterball did a great job.  Thanks, too, to Rebekah, our internet guru at Centricity who has worked hard to oversee this site and get it online in time. There are some new features, like the narration button above.  Take your shoes off, stay awhile, look around – I hope you have fun here at my new home on the web.

As you read this, Josh Petersen, manager of marketing and promotion at Centricity Music, and I are driving around the country in a rental car playing 12 free concerts in the 13 days leading up to the national release date of my new record, “Everything Sad Is Coming Untrue”.

This little tour has been great and we’ve made a lot of new friends as we started in Augusta, GA and made our way north back to Minneapolis, MN.  Each night I’ve played through almost the entire album, but more than a night of music, we’ve explored themes of confession, renewal, and redemption in hopes of finding evidences of God reclaiming the worst and saddest that happens to us, redeeming it, and making it untrue by disarming it’s power to define our lives.

Each night I’ve shared the story of Emmanuel, a young man I met from Rwanda who as a boy saw his father murdered during the genocide there.  His life – once defined by hurt and hatred – was transformed by the love of God when he gave his heart to Jesus Christ, and as a young man when he finally found the man who killed his father, instead of acting on his vow of vengeance, he tracked him down to forgive him and befriend him. They are friends to this day.  Through an amazing set of circumstances, Emmanuel was also commissioned by the King of Rwanda to re-write their national anthem, an anthem now about forgiveness and reconciliation.  Of course none of this changes the sad fact that his father was murdered when he was 12, but by God’s grace the hurt and hatred no longer define his life, and the tragedy has given way to a beautiful story. Everything sad coming untrue, indeed.

We’ve had some good laughs, too, as I’ve introduced concert attendees to stories of my little Gus and the rest of my family.  Josh has been great – he booked the whole tour and is taking good care of me on the road.  He listens to too much country music, but other than that he’s great.  The last time we were on the road together he subjected me to speeches by Ronald Reagan that he has on his iPod, but thankfully political speeches have been kept to a minimum on this trip  (nothing against President Reagan, he was a fine man and model citizen).  Josh has also been making me take my vitamins everyday to keep me from getting sick.  He did make me help him shave his head, though.  Awkward.

We stopped to see the arch in St. Louis and sat on top of Chicago in the Signature Room atop the Hancock building.  It’s been a good little adventure (you can check out our video blogs here, but I’ll be happy to get home for a few days with my family before going out again with Sanctus Real and Phil Wickham.

Hope to see you soon, if you’ve read this far, thanks so much for caring.  (my journals are now designed for you to leave comments if you like, and I hope you will!).

PS – special thanks to everyone who hosted these concerts:

WAFJ, WCLN, WCVK, WIBI, WBGL, Shine.FM (WONU), Adonai Fest, Waukesha First Assembly, WEMI, WGNV, and Westwood Community Church.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Breann permalink
    September 1, 2009 3:45 pm

    Happy CD Release Day! I like the new site…even though the eyes following you is a little bit creepy 😉

  2. September 1, 2009 4:21 pm

    Hey Jason,
    I’ve been enjoying the new website – watching it change throughout yesterday as new pieces became accessible. What fun.

    Just want to thank you for allowing God to use you to minister to aching hearts – you’ve ministered to mine.

    We buried our 7 year old only child in February following a brave nine month battle with brain cancer. My heart has known deep pain even though my Lord has been a constant companion.

    Few can speak to this pain – few even dare.

    Your voice though has touched deep places in me with healing balm. I heard your song “Blessed Be” and it rang in my head for days…I wrote about it on our caring bridge site and a friend (one that you went to prom with) brought me a copy of your cd…

    We brought 12 with us to see you in Bloomington and got a copy of the new cd…my husband & I will be there tonight in Excelsior as well.

    You must be tired and ready to be home…but for what it’s worth, God is singing through you and touching lives…mine included. Thanks for making the sacrifice.

    Deb

  3. September 3, 2009 2:16 pm

    Hey Jason, I love the new site! Who did the art for the album cover and the site? I really like it.
    Did you share that story while on the Bethlehem Skyline Tour last year? It sounds very familiar.

    By the way, you’ll have to come to Waukesha or somewhere else in Southern Wisconsin again soon! I didn’t know about the concert there until Sunday night….after it was done. 😦 So be sure to come near again!
    ~Kiwi~

Leave a Reply

