Skip to content

More Like Falling In Love On The Radio

January 19, 2010

As I write this, it’s my birthday and I’m writing this from several miles up in the air as Taya and I fly to Nashville to join the WAYFM tour with Jeremy Camp, The Afters, and Chasen.  It was hard to say goodbye to my boys, but it’s a short run and we’re so grateful to be a part of what will be the highest profile tour I’ve ever been invited on. We feel so honored.  I can’t wait to see old friends in the audience and make some new ones on this tour.  It’s a pretty decent birthday gift, really – what a great way to start the year!

The best birthday gift I got, though, was when Gus climbed into bed with us in the early hours of the morning and snuggled up beside me before I had to get up to go.  I didn’t even think I’d get to be home at all before late February, but things worked out for me to spend a couple days in my own house, eating my own food, sleeping in my own bed, and of course hanging out with my boys.  (We played video games and built snow tunnels)

I want to update you on some exciting developments with my new single, “More Like Falling In Love”.  I’m going to break it up into three parts and give you a little peek into the process of releasing a song to radio. I’ll begin the story here….

Last week, Josh Petersen (marketing, Centricity Music) and I were on the road again making our way from Texas to Minnesota – 10 states in 5 days – in support of the new radio single, “More Like Falling In Love”, thanking the radio stations that have added it to their playlists and giving those who haven’t yet a chance to give it a good listen and hear the story behind the song.  We always hoped and believed that this particular song had the potential to connect with a larger audience, and I’m so grateful to see that this is proving to be true.

I’ve always felt blessed to have a strong connection with my audience over the years, and I’m grateful that I’ve always had consistently favorable reviews from critics, but the one thing I haven’t had is a solid presence at radio.

Here is the challenge and reward of radio support:

  1. Radio airplay is hard to come by – radio music directors receive hundreds of songs for consideration each year but can only add tens of them.
  2. Radio support is so important – it’s kind of like the gas in the tank for my ministry, helping us get where we could never get without it. That kind of exposure would grow our ministry and help me to keep making music for a long time to come (the Lord willing).  Think of some of the most lauded and critically acclaimed artists you love or have heard of – even if they’re not currently the kings of radio – and more often than not there was some song of theirs that connected at radio and gave them the audience they have now, artists like Sara Groves, Derek Webb, Andrew Peterson, etc.

I’ve never really had that, and with this new record it was our hope to change this.  “More Like Falling In Love” seemed like it might be the song that could do it.

And so far, “More Like Falling In Love” has been enthusiastically received at radio since we released it only a few short weeks ago – more so than any of my songs in the past!  And the response from listeners has been great making it one of the highest rated debut songs.  You can’t imagine how grateful I am for its warm reception. It was the highest debuting single the week it was released and recently broke into the top 20 on the AC indicator charts.  We are praying that it keeps gaining momentum while connecting listeners with the idea that a relationship with Christ should look, as G.K. Chesterton has said, “less like a theory and more like a love affair.”

If you’ve heard it on your local station, I’d be grateful if you let them know that you appreciate them playing it (assuming you do, of course 🙂 (but only call/email if you’ve actually heard it on your local station – radio stations wouldn’t like it if they discovered you were calling a station in Oklahoma even though you live in New Jersey just because you wanted to help me out :-).  Your voice matters and it makes a difference when they hear from people who like the song.

Here are some of the stations playing the song right now:

WWWA/Augusta, ME
WAFJ / Augusta, GA
WSCF / Vero Beach, FL
WAKW / Cincinnati, OH
KLRC / Fayetteville, AR
KXOJ / Tulsa, OK
WGRC / Williamsport, PA
WBHY / Mobile, AL
WCVK / Bowling Green, KY
WJIE / Louisville, KY
KCVO / Columbia, MO
KNWS / Waterloo, IA
KKJM / St. Cloud, MN
WCSG / Grand Rapids, MI
KADI / Springfield, MO
KXGM / Cedar Rapids, IA
KNMI / Farmington, NM
WCTL / Erie, PA
WGNV / Wausau, WI
WMUZ / Detroit, MI
WQME / Indianapolis, IN
WWIB / Eau Claire, WI
KJIL / Meade, KS
KLTY / Dallas, TX
New Life Media / Illinois network
WAYR / Brunswick, GA
KSLT / Rapid City, SD
WJYO / Ft. Meters, FL
KCBI / Dallas, TX
WCLN / Fayetteville, NC
WHPZ / South Bend, IN
KBIQ / Colorado Springs, CO
WPER / Fredricksburg, VA
KSOS / Las Vegas, NV
WNWC / Madison, WI
KZKZ / Ft. Smith, AR
KGCB / Flagstaff-Prescott, AZ

Thanks to all these stations for adding my song, and thanks to you for listening.

(Look for Part 2 tomorrow – adventures from the road)

31 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 4:18 pm

    Jason,
    love the new song! I had decided to email the local radio station (WNWC), and let them know about you and your music, but it was getting late so I decided to do it in the morning. Instead, I turned on my radio and what do you think I heard? None other than you singing “More Like Falling in Love!” 😀
    It’s great hearing you on the radio again!
    ~Laura~

  2. Kaitlyn permalink
    January 19, 2010 6:37 pm

    Between hearing More Like Falling In Love and For The First Time Again on WSCF/Vero Beach, FL, i’m getting spoiled. This is the most i’ve ever heard you on the radio in the 2 1/2 – 3 years that i’ve been a fan of yours. I couldn’t be happier for you, really! I hope this is your break-out song!

  3. January 19, 2010 9:14 pm

    Well YaY! Augusta Maine. I will tune in so that I can hear it! Have a great tour Jason and Taya.

    Toni Farnsworth Whitney

  4. January 20, 2010 7:26 am

    You bet I’ve requested it! It’s being played here in the Green Bay/Appleton Wisconsin area! Hooray! I love the song and I especially like your lyrics! 🙂

  5. January 27, 2010 7:49 pm

    89.7 Shine.fm out of Kankakee, Illinois is playing it too. The guy who made that happen is Johnathan Eltrevoog, and he made sure to tweet me and let me know the day they were going to start playing it on air. Exciting stuff!

  6. Michelle permalink
    January 27, 2010 11:59 pm

    I randomly heard this song on the radio this morning going to work and it immediately hit me. Amazing song. This song is so true and I know God inspired you to write it. Thank you.

  7. Graciela permalink
    January 28, 2010 2:04 pm

    The song is catchy but the lyrics “Cause all religion ever made of me was just a sinner with a stone tied to my feet. It never set me free” really bothered me. It alienates those committed to Christ through the expressions found in the faith of Baptists, Methodists, Lutherans, Episcopalians, Catholics, Presbyterians, etc.

    For me it has to be MORE THAN falling in love, my religion is a commitment to live my life in Christ and like being in a committed relationship I feel free to be who I really am. Everyone can fall in love but commitment is another matter entirely and we shouldn’t base our relationship with Jesus on “fluffy” emotions that come and go but on the hard reality of the gospel which is our Faith and Creed. If we do not hold fast to biblical teachings we become like reeds in the wind, easily swayed and broken. Just take a look at all the error being spread now by those who argue that Jesus was not God, that there is no hell and that there is no such thing as a Trinity.

    • January 28, 2010 2:26 pm

      Hey Graciela,

      Thanks for your comment and concern. I understand what you’re saying, and it’s why I always introduce the song by saying I’m not talking about religion in terms of theology ore even denomination and that it’s so important that we nurture and passionately pursue good theology.
      The word “religion”, for many people, is a word that has a negative connotation because the word has become a kind of shorthand for passionless ideology and adherence to a set of rules for their own sake. Pharisaical would be another way of saying it – think of the religious leaders of Jesus’ time. If you look into the rest of the song, and especially into the rest of my work, you’ll see that I’m not saying what you’re afraid I’m saying. Quite the opposite in fact. I always affirm good theology as well as commitment to the local church.

      What I am saying is that sometimes some of us are in danger of intellectualizing our faith, which may be a subconscious attempt to resist giving our heart to the Lord (my next blog is about this, I hope to post it today!) It’s easier to believe information about who Jesus was/is than it is to risk falling in love with him. When I talk about falling in love with Jesus, I’m not talking about emotionalism, but really falling in love, in the sense of losing your heart to him. Mere belief means very little without devotion. Even the demons believe, and tremble, right?

      It’s like this, I know a lot of information about my wife. I know what kinds of things she likes, what kinds of things she expects of me as her husband, and therefore I also know how to fulfill my obligations to her. But this is a very different thing than loving her. It’s my love for her that defines our relationship and much of my life. It has changed me and demands more of myself than I would otherwise give. So when I talk about falling in love with Jesus, this is what I mean – the kind of love that changes you, defines you, and asks more of you than you would otherwise give. My next blog is about this, too – hope to have it up soon!

      Rule following for the love of rules or out of guilt or obligation is dead religion. Choosing to lay your life down daily and take up your cross to follow Jesus is something that happens when you’ve lost your heart to him, when you’ve fallen in love as a response to the truth that he first loved you.

      I think you’re saying the same thing, and I just wanted to assure you that we’re on the same page. Thanks for caring enough to want to clarify this. I would venture to say that it is your deep love for Christ that caused you to do this, because you believe him to be more than a mere idea.

      God bless you!

  8. Bethany permalink
    January 28, 2010 2:17 pm

    I’m with Gracielia. Also, I’d like to add, the line “give me rules I’ll break them” worries me. Rules are there to help guide us closer to Christ, to recognize what’s right and wrong of God and against God.

    There only rules that are burdensome are the ones we want to break.

    What about the 10 Commandments? This song suggests even break those. Those were given to us BY GOD. These are things He says are right and wrong. If we don’t have a temptation to break any of them they are not burdensome, but rather life giving.

    And like Graciela said, some people find freedom with Christ IN whatever denomination they’re in whether Catholic, Lutheran, Baptist, et cetera.

    P.S. I’m ALL for falling in Love with Christ, but there’s also that COMMITMENT (like Graciela already said). Like my mother says, “Feelings come and go” love-feelings come and go, but if you have a COMMITMENT to Christ, then the love itself never dies. The FEELINGS might, but the COMMITMENT will remind you of that love for Christ and His love for you.

  9. James permalink
    January 28, 2010 2:18 pm

    And what about the Ten Commandments. God gave us those “rules” and Jesus gave also 2 Great Commandments. Does that mean that you will break God’s rules?

    I will call my local Christian station and ask them not to play this song anymore. The last thing we need is more Christians who think they don’t have to follow God’s commandments or believe in the bible.

    • January 28, 2010 6:27 pm

      James & Bethany – I’m afraid you’re misunderstanding the meaning of the lyric here and I hope I can clear it up – this particular lyric you’re concerned about is in reference to what Paul says in Romans 7 when he says: “But sin, seizing the opportunity afforded by the commandment, produced in me every kind of covetous desire. For apart from law, sin is dead. Once I was alive apart from law; but when the commandment came, sin sprang to life and I died.”

      The point that Paul is making here is that the law produces a desire in us to break it. This is one of the ways the law shows us that we need Christ, it we reveals our lawless, sinful nature. The law and the 10 commandments show us how to live righteously – absolutely – but they also show us how broken we are and reveals our sin nature. The whole of the old testament is showing us that the law alone can’t save us, that we need a relationship with Christ.

      And that’s exactly what I’m saying in my lyric, too – give me rules, and because of my sinful nature I will break them, show me lines, and because I’m lawless I will cross them. The first verse is a confession that I’m sinner, it is NOT saying that we should break rules, it’s the exact opposite of that. The story of the lyric is that I’m a sinner, and that I need more than the truth of a law to save me, I need a relationship with Christ, the LIVING truth. And the ultimate point of the song is that because of Christ we can become obedient to the law not out of guilt or even obligation, but out of love – that because of our love (love not as an emotion, but as devotion and committment) for Christ (which is a response to his grace) we become people who honor him. It is only a relationship with him that can break the death grip of sin and lawlessness on our lives. That’s the whole gospel!

      Or here’s a simple example of what I’m trying to say: I’d rather my wife buy me a birthday card not because she has to, but because she wants to. That is what the song is about.

      I hope I’m making this clear. I can’t change your mind about calling your radio station and making a complaint – though I hope I’ve helped you to see that I’m meaning exactly the opposite of what you assumed I was saying – if you feel you need to make that call, you can do that, but the real point of this blog I wrote is about how after all the years I’ve been in ministry, it looks like God has blessed us with a song that radio is playing. It would be disappointing and a sad ending to this story if radio rejected the song because of a misunderstanding of what the lyrics are in fact saying.

      The lyrics are written the way they are in order to engage people and get them thinking. It was exactly my hope that people would hear a line like “give me rules and I will break them” and it would spark their curiousity to wonder “what’s this guy saying?!” and that as they dug deeper they’d be confronted with their own sin nature. This conversation that we’re having is exactly the kind of thing I was hoping for – so I guess it’s working!

      If you’re concerned that the lyric isn’t clear enough, here’s my philosophy that guides me when I write. The problem facing much of Christian music is that can be so careful to spell things out so clearly that there’s no room for people to really engage it, to have to wrestle with it. I don’t want to do everyone’s thinking for them – God gave them a mind of their own that He intends for them to use – and my hope is that my songs will get people asking thinking and asking questions, my hope is that I express the gospel in a way that makes them wrestle with it and hear it anew. This is how Jesus himself taught. His parables were designed to engage people, trouble them even, and cause them to dig deeper. What this does is it leaves room for the Holy Spirit to speak to us and do His job as the revealer of truth. When I spell things out too clearly, I’m in essence not trusting the Holy Spirit to do His job and insisting that I can do a better job that Him.

      I hope this makes sense and you understand what I’m saying with this, and I hope that I’ve cleared up the confusion about what this lyric means. And if I have, I hope that in the future when you hear a lyric that you wonder about, that you’ll dig deeper and even ask the artist (like you did me – thank you) what they mean by it before doing damage to their ministry by lodging complaints that may or may not be a simple matter of a misunderstanding.

      Thanks for the opportunity to talk about this with you guys here! If you have any other questions, I’d love to hear them!

  10. Carla permalink
    January 28, 2010 6:55 pm

    Jason, I completely see what you are saying.

    As much as I love Christ, I am still a sinner. A forgiven sinner, but a sinner nonetheless. As much as I WANT to not offend Him by sinning, ie, breaking the His rules, I break them. Anybody who says they do not is lying, and breaking them by doing so. We can’t stop sinning, but we strive to be a better self by being more like Him. Because we love Him. Because if we didn’t love Him, we’d have no reason to stop sinning. He didn’t give us the commandments that He did so we’d be excellent rule-followers. The things He has commanded us to do are out of His own nature. And one of the aspects of His nature is love.

  11. heather permalink
    January 28, 2010 6:59 pm

    As one who tries hard and fails alot I get it, or at least I think I do..

    I will never be inspired to be better than I am by a rule book. In fact I get quite stubborn about thinking for myself.

    Jesus, to me, isn’t a rule book.. he came to be a man. He did this human thing and succeded. That’s something I can get behind.

    For you people who can follow and obey perfectly, great! well done! I, on the other hand, will use the inspiration I find in this song and most of Jason’s other work to help me stay on track… and to get back on track when I’m less than perfect.

    I will e-mail my radio station next to request “More like Falling in Love”.

  12. January 28, 2010 7:02 pm

    I wonder if some of these people commenting have actually LISTENED (or dare I say, read through) the entire lyrics of the song? You are very gracious and I really appreciate how you are answering their queries. It gives me even more insight into how you think, and I agree with you entirely!

  13. January 28, 2010 7:05 pm

    And just for the record…I think it’s causing a stir because you’re stepping on toes, and as you say in another one of your songs, “Nothing hurts quite like the truth.”

  14. Kaitlyn permalink
    January 28, 2010 7:14 pm

    I wholeheartedly agree with everything you said, Jason. I can understand people’s concerns about the song, when it isn’t typically something that you hear on the radio. It would be a shame for someone to call in and suggest that this song not be played, though. Especially if it is just a misunderstanding of the lyrics.

    My favorite thing about this song (and all of your songs) is the fact that they are packed full of truth. They reach in and take hold of your heart and make you think. You can come away from it feeling like you’ve been challenged. I feel as if most of what is played on Christian radio stations is too fluffy. It is what you want to hear, not what you need to hear. People are fearful of stepping on toes, but i’m glad that Jason’s song is causing something like this to happen. Hopefully it will allow God to do a great work through Jason’s ministry.

  15. Tim Lin permalink
    January 28, 2010 7:18 pm

    Hi Jason, I’ve seen you perform several times live and I’ve always appreciated your honesty and passion. You are one of a handful of Christian artists I would say is sincerely pursuing this as a ministry.

    I must say, however, upon hearing “More Like Falling in Love”, that I shared many of the concerns already mentioned. But being familiar with your other songs, I think I got what you were trying to say, and reading your comments here just confirmed for me that my interpretation was correct.

    I know as a Christian artist, there is always the tension between scriptural accuracy and personal expression & creativity, and I absolutely appreciate you taking the time to explain your lyrics. However, having read your songwriting process, I feel I need to say a few things.

    I love lyrics that are deep and make people dig, but that should not come as a result of ambiguity. The parables were mysterious, but Jesus always explained them afterward.

    People need to be confronted and wrestle with scripture, not song lyrics. I hate to say it this way, but what sort of responsibility would you take for someone who got the WRONG idea about God and salvation from a song you wrote? Only the word of God has the power to transform lives.

    This leads to my final point. I know you can’t force people what to think, and ultimately they are responsible for their decisions and conclusions, but I urge you to take a harder look at the ways that your lyrics could possibly be interpreted wrongly.

    I say this not as a hardened critic, but as a supporter who has been personally very blessed by your music and testimony. I just hope you will continue to pursue excellence and truth in everything you write, as a servant of Jesus and presenter of truth!

    • Rachel permalink
      January 28, 2010 10:46 pm

      Tim,
      The parables were mysterious, but the Bible mostly portrays Jesus explaining them to his disciples (not the crowds) when they asked afterward. Look at Matthew 13 as an example. Furthermore, Jesus says in Matthew 13:12-17, “Whoever has will be given more, and he will have an abundance. Whoever does not have, even what he has will be taken from him. This is why I speak to them in parables: “Though seeing, they do not see; though hearing, they do not hear or understand. In them is fulfilled the prophecy of Isaiah:
      ” ‘You will be ever hearing but never understanding;
      you will be ever seeing but never perceiving.
      For this people’s heart has become calloused;
      they hardly hear with their ears,
      and they have closed their eyes.
      Otherwise they might see with their eyes,
      hear with their ears,
      understand with their hearts
      and turn, and I would heal them.’ But blessed are your eyes because they see, and your ears because they hear. For I tell you the truth, many prophets and righteous men longed to see what you see but did not see it, and to hear what you hear but did not hear it.”
      It seems that Jesus usually wouldn’t clear up the mystery of a parable unless asked. And the asking would more frequently be from a seeking heart because of it (not counting those trying to trip him up, a la the Pharisees, or those merely curious).

      As for Jason’s lyrics, I usually find them refreshingly rich and not a hackneyed rephrasing of what’s become common and “safe” for Christian radio. Their sometimes startling effect can be what grabs the attention of a wandering, bored, and/or jaded heart, whether that heart belongs to a believer or not. (I know I’ve felt that effect.) And while I would, and Jason would probably as well, classify his music as “praise/repentance-filled music” or “gospel-filled music,” they are not, nor were ever meant to be, a gospel tract or sermon. The medium of a 3-5 minute song is not designed to lead someone into the full doctrinal explanation of salvation, but it can be a darn good starting point for questions, longings, and reassurance.

      I find troubling the assumption that Christian radio, or songs written and performed by a Christian, cannot have mystery, ambiguity, or questions embedded within the lyrics. These qualities add to the beauty and thoughtfulness, which is much more appreciated by non-believers than some sort of propagandist’s soap box. (Look at some of the best “secular” songs: they also reflect creative use of words and mystery: these are the songs that will stick in your brain, make you think, and become a part of you.) I humbly ask that if someone finds it distressing that unbelievers may not know God, that person should trust Him to save by His Spirit, and be available as one of His workers in whatever field one is sent, instead of worrying about perceived ambiguity in an admitted gospel-oriented and grace-filled song.

      I am apprehensive also of assumptions that a song that doesn’t contain today’s standard Christian jargon will lead someone to hell. Jesus saves by HIS sacrifice and perfect obedience, as shown through His word and through the witness of His people by His Spirit. Our witness will always fall so short of what it should be, but God uses our contradictory lives (not just our words or lyrics) to show His grace. From my perspective, Jason’s responsibility is to write honest, beautiful, troubling, creative, praiseworthy songs as God leads him, whether they specifically be about finding Jesus or about another part of life, over which Jesus is still Lord. And God will use what He wants to save those who need him, who are seeking Him (and who are promised to find Him — Matt. 7:8).

      I hope that my suggestions and apprehensions about what your post contained were communicated in a way that you took as humble, not wanting to one-up you on your own thoughtful post. I find critiquing arguments or giving my point of view to someone who thinks differently than I do over the internet very hard to do without sounding arrogant while still being clear and succinct. Please let me know if I failed in that regard.

    • January 29, 2010 2:04 am

      There’s a great lyric from my friend Sara Grove’s song – one of the best writer’s in Christian music in my opinion – that says if we go looking for offense, we’re going to find it. You’d be amazed at how many music business meetings I’ve sat in where we discuss what can and can’t be said in a song on account of fear what listeners will bear. For instance, artist’s are discouraged from talking about blood in a song for the Christian market because it can hurt your chances for radio play. Mostly because it’s a stronger word/image than many listeners will allow. I’m not knocking radio – they’re just serving their listeners and don’t want to field complaints.

      I had a song where we had to change the best lyric for the single version: “I’d rid my whole house of it’s demons of lust, and open the windows to trust” – the words demons and lust were too disturbing. But these are the lyrics that have the strongest impact when I play it to a live audience.

      The point is that we as artists who try to serve the church with our music can feel so much pressure to do damage control, trying to anticipate what lyrics will be taken what way and offend whom… and it’s hard to build the Kingdom that way. The conversation that many artists have with each other is how hard it is to tell the truth in the church.

      I respectfully disagree about the comment about the Parables. Rachel expressed this very well, but I’d like to reiterate that Jesus rarely explained his parables, and when he did it was usually exclusively to his disciples, and even then he usually scolded them for asking him to explain them. Some of his hardest sayings were left for us to interpret after the fact. “Eat my flesh, drink my blood” he says without explanation. Most people left him at that point, except for the 12 who seem like even they may have considered leaving but said, “where else can we go? You have the words of truth.” Jesus was many things, but a spoon feeder was not among them.

      In regards to me being irresponsible with my lyrics – I don’t know how to answer that, I guess I don’t have objectivity. When I read through them I see the classic form of most of the sermons I grew up with. You begin with the bad news, the Old Testament, which can be summed up this way: rules don’t work. Give me rules, I’ll break them because I’m a sinner, show me lines and I’ll cross them because I’m lawless. I need more than rules and an ideology to believe, I need a Truth that lives! That moves and breathes! I need Jesus, the only one who can save me, the one who came to offer me relationship with God almighty. That’s verse 1, I read through it and I can’t see it as anything else.

      Then the gospel comes in the chorus, my paraphrase of G.K. Chesterton’s assertion that our faith should look “less like a theory and more like a love affair.” Nothing controversial about that to me – it’s what the New Testament is all about. In verse 2, I dig a little deeper into how insidious my own sin is, that I will misuse words (I’m thinking the Pharisees here), bending and manipulating them for my own gain. Obligations? I’ll misplace them – I’ll follow the rules for the wrong reasons – to please others, for the approval of man. And this is what lifeless religion is – rules without relationship, living to please man instead of God.

      If all this feels too oppressive, then comes the statement in the bridge that is as clear as I can think to make it, that it was falling in love with Jesus (and let’s not assume loving Jesus has to mean fluffly emotionalism without substance – he calls us his bride to give us a proper understanding of the nature of our relationship… it’s a marriage! A marriage of our hearts and minds to his… Falling in love with Jesus is what brought the change in me – it accomplished what mere rules could never do, it transformed me.

      So there you have it. I appreciate everyone who has weighed in on this – I echo Rachel’s sentiment – I hope I haven’t come off as arrogant in my replies. Thanks for the conversation everyone.

  16. January 28, 2010 7:42 pm

    Thanks for this perspective, Jason – as an indie artist, it’s both eye-opening and disheartening to hear that there’s so much resistance to putting lyrically excellent music on the radio. I released a Nashville recorded/produced album in July. I naively thought it wouldn’t be as tough as it is to get heard. But, we press on knowing it’s a ministry and we strive to connect people with Christ, whether on the radio or through small, local events. Bless you as you continue to use your gifts for Him. 1 Peter 4:10 A fellow Minnesotan, Mela

  17. Emily permalink
    January 28, 2010 8:12 pm

    Well said, Jason.

    I personally relate to the meaning of this song very well. As soon as I was born, my parents started taking me to church. So I’ve known about Jesus my whole life. Not only have I known, but I’ve believed. I believed He was who He said He was, and I believed in Him as my Savior. I remember praying, like so many kids do, for Jesus to come into my heart when I was a mere 4-years-old. And I have always been steadfast in my belief. But for years and years there was something missing.

    I did the right thing. I went to church. I prayed. I had Scripture memorized. Always had an answer ready when people asked me questions. But I still felt so dead. And so tied. I knew the Bible talked about both life and freedom in Christ, and I wondered what I was missing. And I also wondered how I COULD be missing anything even, because like I said, I knew a lot.

    After doing that for 12 years, I was feeling desperate. And I began seeking God in a way that I never had before. I started seeking to know Him, rather than just know about Him. That’s when I was struck with love, and it knocked me over. Not literally, but in every other way. That’s when I fell in love with Jesus, and when I was radically changed.

    I don’t think that I looked any different on the outside. As far as my behavior goes, I still did the same things. But what was different was the motivation behind them. I wasn’t doing things out of obligation anymore. Everything was now inspired by my relationship with Jesus.

    And I think that’s the idea this song is trying to relate. It’s summed up well in the line “I need more than a truth to believe, I need a Truth that lives, moves and breathes.” When I was young, I had heard these words of truth and I latched on to them, but I wasn’t understanding and living by them in context of the One who said them. So they were just words. And they didn’t change me. “Falling in love with Jesus brought the change in me,” because in falling in love, I gave myself to him.

    Every time I hear this song, I’m taken back to that moment when Truth swept me off my feet, and I thank you for that, Jason. And for anyone who has any questions about this song, I hope that hearing a story of how this has played out in someone’s life helps to bring clarity. Like Jason said, it’s not to diminish the value of sound doctrine and theology, or to promote sinful actions, or living life after whimsical feelings, it’s about Jesus. He has to be at the center of everything, or it’s just pointless.

  18. SuperL permalink
    January 28, 2010 9:30 pm

    I think the song perfectly demonstrates why we need our savior, Jesus Christ. After all, He is the only one without sin… who never “broke the rules”. We can try as hard as we can to never break rules, but it is impossible. Give me rules, I WILL break them. Not because I want to, or because I think that I have a free pass as a Christian, but because I can’t help it.

    The song also demonstrates to me God’s desire for our relationship, not just our understanding and obedience. Just before I became a Christian (back in my college days), I understood what sin was and that it separated me from God. I even understood that Christ’s death on the cross was the punishment for my sin. But even with knowing all that, I didn’t accept Christ. It wasn’t until I fully realized that it was all done out of love… that He must really love me to sacrifice His son. And when I realized this, it was more like falling in love and I was finally able to give my heart to God and accept Christ.

    Thank you for the song and your ministry, Jason.

  19. Breann permalink
    January 29, 2010 12:28 am

    What I’ve come to appreciate about Jason’s songwriting is the care he puts into crafting each song, and this song is no exception. The song starts with the words, “Give me rules/I will break them/Show me lines/I will cross them.” I don’t think these words are saying, “Give me rules so that I can break them.” The message isn’t “Rules are meant to be broken,” but that there is some power that rules lack. Perhaps this deficiency is not in the rules, themselves. “The law is holy and the commandment is holy, righteous and good” (Rom. 7:12). The deficiency is not in the rules, but in me, the sinner and my sinful nature. “We know that the law is spiritual; but I am unspiritual, sold as a slave to sin…For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out” (Rom. 7:14, 18). The harder I try to keep all the rules and stay within all the lines, the more I realize my powerlessness to do so. “What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death?” (Rom. 7:24)

    But then the gospel enters the story. Not the “gospel” that is based on more rules that we are powerless to keep, but the Good News that “what the law was powerless to do…God did by sending his own Son” (Rom. 8:3). The law was powerless to produce righteousness. “But now a righteousness from God, apart from the law, has been made known…This righteousness from God comes through faith in Jesus Christ to all who believe (Rom. 3:21-22).

    And what does this faith look like? Does it look like rigorous rule-keeping? Does it look like intellectual assent to a list of facts about Jesus? The point of this song is that faith looks “More like falling in love/Than something to believe in/More like losing my heart/Than giving my allegiance.”

    Here’s what Jason writes about the song in the special edition CD, “I think we’re often in danger of reducing Christianity to information – a series of facts that you must know and believe in order to be saved. It’s important for us to rigorously pursue good theology, to be sure, but it seems clear that when the scriptures talk about believing it’s talking about more than just propositional facts and has more to do with trust, affection, and above all relationship.”

    And isn’t that what Jesus came to do, to restore the relationship between God and man that was broken when sin entered the world? This is more than just fluffy emotionalism. It is love as the Bible defines it, the laying down of your life for another, that changes us. It is love in response to being loved.

    In my own life, I have all too often reduced faith to a mental checklist of facts about Jesus. This song has drawn me into the harder, riskier, and scarier business of relationship with the Living God, and for that I am grateful.

  20. Matt permalink
    January 29, 2010 8:23 am

    Jason, thank you for your willingness to explain your song. I’ve just recently found your music and have really enjoyed your thought provoking lyrics. I hope you continue to follow the way God leads you in song writing. God bless.

  21. February 10, 2010 8:47 am

    Hey Jason,

    I heard More Like Falling in Love on WROO in Mauldin, SC. The song really spoke to me, especially as I’ve recently lead my home group in Francis Chan’s study “Crazy Love”. When I went to your website to check you out, I was interested to find you were on tour with Chasen. I go to church with Chase and Evan Silver at Marathon Church, and my son, Will, use to play guitar with Chase in the youth band there. Tell the guys I said “Hello”!

    Perry C.

  22. February 10, 2010 9:02 am

    Good Song.

  23. Roberta Koonce permalink
    February 14, 2010 6:09 pm

    Jason, I was on my way to work last Thursday and turned on The Message on XM and “Falling in Love” was playing. Never heard it before…ever. I am a music lover, and I loved this song immediately; it seemed to have all the things I look for in a song..and the lyrics! Just what my heart had been saying all these years…you put down in a song! Little did I know, much later on that day after work, after supper, after I went to bed, at 2 am, I got a call from the senior living facility my Dad lives in saying he was being taken to the ER. As you can imagine I threw on my clothes and proceeded to drive alone in the cold to the hospital, not having any idea in what condition I would find my 94 year old father. Well, as it turned out, he was having some problems he deals with regularly, but not having seen me in several days since I started this job, he was feeling a little neglected. When I walked in, he lit up like a Christmas tree and immediately acted as though he was fine….No complaints. Just really happy to see me. I realized, that a real relationship with God or anyone, like my Dad, is authentic; when you see it on someone’s face, you can’t help but knowing they love you and they just want to be with you. Your song was timely. Thanks, Jason and thanks, Lord.

  24. steve kay permalink
    February 26, 2010 9:06 am

    had to tell you that i love everything that your new song says. i am tired of so much of the music that is out there that says nothing. i heard the song the first time yesterday while on the freeway and i was so frustrated when they did not say who it was, that today i had to look it up on the net. well, I’m glad i found out who did it and i pray that your ministry is totally blessed as i believe it will be , because to quote an old cliché ” you hit it right on the head”

  25. David D. permalink
    April 17, 2010 10:36 pm

    Jason,
    Sorry for the re-post, my first effort had some spelling issues.
    I am scheduled to give a sermon on “Self Annihiliation” this week – a rather severe term for “dying to self. It is a topic that can be fraught with guilt and shame, reinforcing our feelings that we are useless to God because of our inability to “get it together.”
    On the way home from church I tuned into the local Christian station and heard “More Like Falling in Love” on “20, the Countdown Magazine.” The Holy Spirit immediately went to work, I am axious to share new insights with our people. Dying to self can be tried a couple of ways, one way is to exert terrific willpower (this has not proven to be extremely successful in my case); the second way is to focus on “focus.” I was reminded of the first time I saw my wife-to-be; I died to self that day, nothing about me was as important as she was. My focus was on winning her heart and I would go to any length to accomplish that. The Lord blessed me in that endeavor – 40th anniversary this August.
    So, what is the point? Just that if I truly “return to my First Love” (Revelation 2:4) with the same fervor as I had for my wife, I WILL DIE TO SELF. This is the easier and more permanent way to get this done – without all the guilt and shame.
    Thanks for this song, the Lord used it to give me an insight that I will share tomorrow. Freedom in the Grace of God – how can we not fall in love with Jesus Christ.
    Blessings,
    David

  26. May 9, 2010 9:50 pm

    The lyrics to this song are excellently refreshing. Living in God is like falling into love and being surrounded by it, every area of our lives being summerged in Him. I applaud your poetic gift and the theology behind it. As a pastor’s daughter, who grew up with many rules and much criticism being shot around by everyone and in every angle, I do understand what it is to live with a stone tied up to my body, dragging my daily human struggles everywhere I went instead of seeing God’s mercy & grace in every breath I took. I saw many people pledging ‘allegiance’ to their church and their God and live for only themselves and their ideas.
    Thanks for bringing a fresh voice to our contemporary christian music!

  27. Craig permalink
    March 29, 2011 11:44 pm

    Jason, It doesn’t look like this is an active blog but I will leave a message here anyway. I am glad you are having some success, it sounds like you have worked hard for it and I am sure you deserve it. My struggle is with the way we use the word love today in society, including the church. I love my dog, I love chocolate, I love my wife, and I love Jesus! I wish being a Christian was like falling in love with Jesus (or do I?), because I would like it to be easy, but being a Christian is actually the most difficult thing I have ever committed to do. Falling in love to me is about feelings, and if I can fall in love, I can fall out of love when I don’t feel like it anymore. I don’t think Jesus ever encouraged anyone to fall in love with him. I have never seen that concept in the New Testament anywhere. We are always commanded to love God, to love Christ. Falling in love with Jesus comes across to me as “easy Believe-ism”. There needs to be the commitment to Christ that goes beyond feelings or else I think our faith is on sand and not solid ground. I can be committed to Christ and still sin, or I can fall in love with Jesus and still sin. Does it really come down to the fact that if I make a commitment to Jesus and I sin I feel bad, but if I have fallen in love with Jesus and I sin I feel like Jesus understands my weakness so I don’t feel so bad? We really need a right view of God and we need to love him with all our hearts, soul, mind, and strength which is a love I don’t think I can just fall into. Even in my marriage, I didn’t fall in love with my wife, that was just infatuation when I first met her. I grew in my love for her as I got to know her. As far as the Chesterton quote, I have no idea why he would want to use that phrase. I so trivializes God to talk about having a love affair with him. Why not just say more like a relationship? God is my Father, Jesus is my savior and my brother because I have been redeemed into God’s family, I am not going to fall in love with my dad or my brother, that just sounds ridiculous to me, but I love them, respect them and I am committed to them. I would really prefer a different phrase than “falling In love” in your song.

Leave a Reply

