Skip to content

What It’s Like To Be On The Road With Josh

January 20, 2010

As I mentioned in my last post, Josh Petersen (marketing, Centricity) and I hit the road for a week to meet with radio stations between TX and MN.  If you’ve followed me over the past few years, you’ve heard me talk about Josh.

I think nobody has worked harder to help grow my ministry than Josh Petersen who has logged countless hours with me in rental cars over the years, driving me across the country to introduce me to the world of radio, making it possible for me to share my story and make many new friends.  I think Josh has made it his personal mission to help me succeed and his belief in my calling is a gift.

This recent trip began in Houston and we worked our way North.  Whenever Josh and I travel, we try to see historical landmarks along the way.  This time, we visited the place where JFK was assassinated and went to the museum in Dallas.  But that was about all we had time for on this run… it was an aggressive schedule with non-stop driving.  We’ve done these trips before and over longer periods of time, but both of us remarked how we’d never felt more tired than we were on this one, dragging ourselves across the finish line in MN where I was reunited with Taya and the boys and Josh readied himself for his flight back to Nashville.

Josh often jokes that he eats like an eighth grader – mac & cheese and PB&Js usually – but we ate pretty good on this trip and I was proud of him for his expanding palette. We had Tex-mex in Texas, Italian in Oklahoma, Mongolian in Iowa, and finally classic American malts and cheeseburgers in Wisconsin.  We talked a lot about the relationships that mean the most to us, we had our hearts broken over what was happening in Haiti, and we listened to a lot of good music.  I discovered Wyclef Jean on this trip (I’m a little late to the party, I know), fell in love with Johnny Cash all over again, and even got hooked on Josh’s audio book of Sarah Palin’s, which I thought I would hate but actually really enjoyed (not to mention, it was way more entertaining than his old Ronald Reagan speeches that Josh used to make me listen to when we were first on the road together. Josh’s passion for music is matched only by his improbable passion for fiscal conservatism.)  We had a great time on the road with each other.  After weeks and weeks of being on the road with Josh over the years, he may know more about me than anyone else.  Scary thought…

Over the last few years we’ve made some great friends at radio – never trying to pressure anyone to play my songs, but grateful to get to share my story and give them a chance to hear the songs, really hear them in a way they might not otherwise if there wasn’t a face and a story associated with them.  As I mentioned before, radio music directors receive hundreds of singles each year, but can only add tens of them.

I’ll be honest and confess that in my younger years as an indie artist who couldn’t get airplay to save his life, I was often tempted to think of Christian radio as the bad guys.  But that was before I understood their world, and I’ve been blessed to meet some of my favorite people these last few years in the world of radio – people who work hard to serve their listeners – and the real fruit of these radio tours have been the friendships that have come out of them. As much as I’ve gotten to share my story with them, I feel like I’ve gotten to understand their stories a bit better myself.

There have been many music directors who took a chance on me and added songs like “Blessed Be” and “Everything I Own” when nobody else was.  I’m grateful for them, and their early support has helped “More Like Falling In Love” do as well as it is right now.  We’re so grateful for everyone who’s playing the song right now.

And as always, we’re thankful for you listening (and reading my blogs, too ;-). We hope to see you on the road real soon.

NEXT UP (hopefully tomorrow) – the story behind the song “More Like Falling In Love”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

