Skip to content

Present (Introducing Taya Gray)

May 19, 2010

Anyone who knows my wife, Taya Gray, knows her to be a person who possesses a rare depth and transparency. She’s also quite the writer, though she’s very modest(and even secretive!) about it. She has recently been writing a good deal about a season she is in of self discovery and reformation, and one of her recent posts was so good I thought I’d share it in the Rabbit Room, trusting that the readers there might enjoy and be encouraged by her reflections. Rabbit Room readers, I present, Taya Gray:

I got to fly home to visit with my family for a few days. It was a nice visit. With new tools tucked neatly in the spongy tissues of my brain, I was able to experience my family in a fresh way.

It was my dad who drove me back to the airport. Normally I would be a little stressed by this hour-long ride in the front seat with my dad. What will we talk about? What if it’s quiet for too long? Maybe I should have some things prepared for us to talk about. I should certainly be prepared to answer any questions he might have with strong, confident answers. This is how I bring myself to most people and situations in my life – prepared.

I was reading a book recently by Pema Chodron and she describes my dilemma perfectly:

Click here to read the rest of Taya’s blog in The Rabbit Room

One Comment leave one →
  1. Amber permalink
    May 24, 2010 10:49 am

    Jason is a wonderful man. I met him at my church. He was very kind. He took the time to talk to me and sign an autograph for me. I was going to get my picture taken with him, but I didn’t have time, I had to go home. I hope Jason comes back to Iowa. River’s Edge Church.
    May God be with you and your family.

Leave a Reply

