Skip to content

More Like Falling In Love – The Limit Of Words

June 1, 2010

My latest installment in my continuing blog series about More Like Falling In Love is posted at http://www.jesusfreakhideout.com/jfhblog/template_permalink.asp?id=354

In my continuing series about the meaning behind the lyrics of my song, “More Like Falling In Love,” we come to verse two, which begins with a statement about words.

Give me words
I’ll misuse them…

I’ve been thinking a lot about words lately, specifically about the limits of words. I love words and language and the stories they conspire to create, which is one of the reasons why, I suppose, I’m a songwriter.

And yet the older I get the more I’m aware of the limit of words. Take for instance the exchange of words in any conversation: there are the words you speak and then there are the words that the other person hears, and they rarely carry the same meaning…

To read the rest: http://www.jesusfreakhideout.com/jfhblog/template_permalink.asp?id=354

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2010 11:50 am

    I heard you on KTIS this morning and had to check your site out. I loved what you said this morning about toilets, the law, and how love causes you to fulfill the law greater than you ever did when you tried to fulfill it. Or maybe that’s a mix of you and a little of my thoughts, I don’t know, because I was busy cleaning when I heard your song! Thank you for the excellent song that is worth singing along to!

  2. Tangie permalink
    June 15, 2010 12:49 am

    I couldn’t agree with you more on the variation in meaning between what is spoken and what is heard, as words are translated through the filter in which they travel. 🙂

Leave a Reply

