Skip to content

Salt In The Oats and other blogs

June 30, 2010

Just wanted to let people here know about a number of new blogs and other items of interest that are currently on the web.

I just posted another piece in the Rabbit Room this week, this one is an overview of the music of Aimee Mann, why I’m a fan, and the spiritual significance I find in her literate song-craft. It’s called “Salt In the Oats” and you can read it here: http://www.rabbitroom.com/?p=8187

Also, in case you missed it Jesus Freak Hideout posted the newest blog in my series about the meaning behind my song “More Like Falling In Love”. The latest one is a reflection of our experience of visiting the Dead Sea Scrolls exhibit and wondering about the dynamics of intimacy in the Christian community. It’s called “Lie, Hide… or Love?” Here’s the link:  http://www.jesusfreakhideout.com/jfhblog/template_permalink.asp?id=362

The next installment in that blog series should be posted there this week, and includes the story of how Taya and I met, so be sure to check back there later this week.

Also, check out this video I found on youtube of a vocal group performing my song “Sing Through Me” from All The Lovely Losers: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KAe5WCLeFwI – what an honor! Thanks you guys!

And lastly, I just posted a really cool video that Paul Mabury, drummer on my newest record, made of him tracking “Better Way To Live” – it offers a unique perspective of the song from the drum room. Paul is my favorite drummer I’ve recorded with and it brings back great memories seeing this Australian powerhouse lay down this solid groove. Hope you like it too: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ecm2KjwDnZk

That’s it. More news and stuff coming soon. Thanks for checking in here and caring about what I do. I’m grateful for your attention.

Jason Gray

2 Comments leave one →
  1. nicole permalink
    July 1, 2010 2:28 pm

    I loved the video of the group performing “Sing Through Me” – it’s one of my favorite songs from that album and they were so unique performing it. Can’t wait to check out the other video you posted!

  2. Caleb J.L permalink
    July 7, 2010 11:55 am

    Hey Jason! How are you bro? I know that you have a hard time with making your songs spiritaul but entertaining as well. Well I have a scripture that I hope will help you. It is the King Jame-Amplified. John4:23,24 A time will come, however,indeed it is already here, when the true (genuine) worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and in truth (reality); for the Father seeking just such people as these as His worshipers. God is a Spirit ( a spiritual Being) and whose who worship Him must worship Him in spirit and in truth (reality). Keep the FAITH Brother! Keep the FAITH!

Leave a Reply

