Skip to content

New Blog: Transparency Part 1: The Risk & Reward Of An Honest Facebook Status Update

September 16, 2010

“…never again do I want to see / my own children running after me / teardrops on my collar and sleeves / ‘daddy don’t go… daddy don’t go…’ / let some other guy take my place / let some other fool sing these songs…” – Pierce Pettis. Some days I feel this song…

I posted this as my facebook status recently. After 14 days on the road followed by four brief days at home, I was in a hotel room in Minneapolis preparing to leave again for another 12 days, and feeling the familiar ache of having to say goodbye to those I love most.

My family was with me and we had driven through the night from a concert in Northern Minnesota in order for me to get a few hours of sleep before catching my early morning flight to Orlando, FL. The alarm rang at 5:45 AM after three hours of sleep, and then something remarkable happened…

Read the rest of this blog at http://www.rabbitroom.com/?p=9738

2 Comments leave one →
  1. keith feisel permalink
    September 16, 2010 8:02 pm

    I can remember when my three girls were younger and I was in seminary part time and working full time. When I wasn’t at work or school, I was usually in a book.

    I came home from work one day, walked upstairs and greeted everyone. I loved getting a hug and a kiss from my girls, and a big enthusiastic welcome, “Daddy’s home!” I then went back down the stairs to get the mail. My oldest daughter, Megan, was around 4 yo at the time, although my wife would know exactly how old she was–moms remember things like that, dads can’t even keep their names straight when trying to get their attention because they left their socks in the living room.

    Anyway, as I was gong down those stairs, Megan ran to the top of the stairs and yelled, “Bye Daddy,” and then ran off back to playing. Those words pierced my heart like a Jason Gray lyric. I knew I needed to reevaluate my priorities and send more time on things that would last, like reading “The Pokey Little Puppy,” instead of trying to conjugate Greek verbs. I never regretted stopping to read a book or tie a shoe, and no one has ever asked be what grade I got in Hebrew Grammar…

  2. October 1, 2010 11:16 am

    hey brother – something that maybe you’d like to know…

    yesterday, as I’m pulling into my Memphis driveway in the old Honda van that makes lots of curious noises, I hear a voice on K-love. Now, I rarely listen to K-love. But I wanted some music that the neighborhood kiddos in my car could hear, music that wasn’t about chains and gangs and dollar signs. And so I listened to K-love, well after they’d exited my car.

    So back to the voice. It was yours… a song I’d not heard before, but here the words were – more like falling love in love/than something to believe in/more like giving my heart/than giving my allegiance.

    Minutes earlier I’d hung up the phone from a new friend and her sister, who between them have several children, have themselves been abused (and their children witnessed it), and have been living in a cramped, “shady” motel for 3 weeks. But as we are hopefully leaving crisis mode and entering more stability in their lives, we’re seeing some Light.

    The story is long, but I think that if she could have said it differently, she might have communicated to me over that phone, through tears, that’s it’s not just giving a food bag in return for faith. That’s it’s not manipulation so we can add one more to “the number of those saved” this week at our altar. She may have said, that for the first time in her 28 years she’s finally discovered that, “It’s more like falling in love…” (And though she didn’t use those words, she communicated it in a way I understood.)

    Here’s to falling. (and thank you for being faithful to the art.)

Leave a Reply

