Skip to content

November Update: Christmas music, homecoming concert, music video, plus

November 11, 2010

Whew! What a whirlwind it’s been for the Gray family. I wanted to give you a quick update and news. In this update:

Make A Difference Tour Wrap up
“Homecoming” show in MN
New Christmas Songs Available
New Music Video

The Make A Difference Tour
The MAD tour just wrapped up a week ago and Taya and I are basking in the afterglow as well as… exhausted. What a grand adventure it was to get to join Tobymac, Third Day, Michael W. Smith and Max Lucado on a tour whose objective was to serve the poorest of the poor through the ministry of World Vision. We are grateful to the tour for having us and all of our new friends we met at the shows all across America. I documented the whole thing for HearItFirst.com in a series of backstage movies that I hoped would give a sense of what life on the road is really like (and to hopefully make you laugh) If you haven’t seen them yet, you can check them out at http://www.hearitfirst.com/jasongray

“Homecoming Show”
After our grand adventure on the MAD tour, we’re grateful to get to come home and do a show in Mankato on November 13th where I’m excited to share with old friends some of the new songs that I’m working on for my next record as well as songs from my latest projects. There’s no ticket price, but a free will offering will be taken.

The other thing that is special about this night is that the offering will benefit my parent’s ministry, Middleground, that has provided housing and rehabilitation to people in various forms of crisis, transition, and homelessness and minister through a weekly interdenominational worship service. They also provide counseling for people in crisis who might not otherwise have access to it.

My mom will join me on stage for a few songs in what is sure to be a special night. I’m excited to get to support their ministry as well as share some of the new songs and stories with you. I hope you’ll join us! Details:

Jason Gray “homecoming” concert
Saturday November 13th, 6:00 PM
Crossview Covenant Church
2000 Howard Dr. W
North Mankato, MN
507.387.5606
Free, an offering will be taken.

Christmas Time Is Here
I released two new Christmas songs on the new Bethlehem Skyline 2 compilation that is now available in stores and on iTunes. I covered “Do You Hear What I Hear” which is one of the first Christmas songs I remember loving as a child. I also wrote an original Christmas song for this record called “Love Has A Name” that I’m excited about and grateful for. I hope you like it, too! Get the record here: https://missinginkshop.com/bethlehemskyline/store/featured/bethlehem-skyline-2
Or on iTunes. http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/bethlehem-skyline-vol-2/id391208922

Music Video For I Am New
Lastly, I wanted to let you know that I just got to make my first music video! We’re grateful that we got to work with our friend, artist Evie Coates, whose artwork consists of discarded junk repurposed into new works of art. We felt like she could help us visually tell the story of my song “I Am New” – the story of how God is taking the broken pieces of our lives to reshape them into the new creation He is making of us. We are grateful that both the song and the video have been warmly received and we hope that you like it, too. You can watch it here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=45ej_Ol4Dnk

Thanks so much for reading this far, coming soon: news of the Christmas tour and more!

Grace and peace to you, thank you for letting me part of your journey.

JGray

PS – I had to let you know about my friend Sara Groves’ new Christmas record – recorded live at a women’s prison in IL. Only Sara would think of following in the footsteps of Johnny Cash… I think you’ll like it, and it’s free here:
http://www.saragroves.com

One Comment leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    November 11, 2010 5:14 pm

    Jason! Thanks for making all those great videos for the Make a Difference Tour. They were so entertaining and it was fun to see what being on a tour like that is really like. Thanks for staying up until 4:00 am to do them!

Leave a Reply

