Skip to content

“I Am New” On The Radio

November 19, 2010

I just returned from a radio promo trip where we got to introduce and share the story behind the new song that my label, Centricity Music, chose to release to radio. After much consideration, I was grateful when Centricity chose “I Am New” as the new radio single – a song I wrote with my good friend Joel Hanson whose theme I always thought was one of the most important on my new record. I’ve been encouraged by how people have responded to the song at my concerts since I wrote it and we all hope that it will find a similar reception at radio.

I am SOOO grateful for the response we enjoyed with “More Like Falling In Love” which went all the way to number 3! Chart positions don’t really matter that much to me – that’s not why I do what I do – but it is gratifying to know that millions of people heard the song and really connected with it. What a blessing to get emails and notes from people who expressed how important that song was to them. It was also kind of fun, not to mention the other obvious benefit which is that it helps give me the opportunity to continue making music.

I am so grateful that “More Like Falling In Love” had a good long life at radio, but now it’s time to send another little song into the world, with prayers that it will find its way to the hearts of radio listeners. We are grateful for all the stations who’ve been quick to add the song to their playlists, and the response so far has been great! – people are really responding to the message of the song. We couldn’t be more grateful (a word I keep returning to…)

If you haven’t seen it, we did make a music video for the song featuring our friend Evie Coates, an artist whose work features bits of “junk” repurposed into beautiful works of art. She was the perfect person to help us visually tell the story of “I Am New”. You can see the video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-w6YG2NZguc

Following is a list of the reporting radio stations who are playing the song (that we are aware of – sorry if I forgot anybody!). If you see your station listed here, you could help us out by letting them know how grateful you are that they’re playing the song.

WMSJ / Portland, ME
WJTL / Lancaster, PA
WVFJ / Atlanta, GA
WCIE/WJIS – Tampa, FL/Sarasota, FL
WPOZ / Orlando, FL
WBFJ / Winston-Salem, NC
WPAR / Lynchburg-Roanoke, VA
K-Love
WMUZ / Detroit, MI
WBSN / New Orleans, LA
WDJC / Birmingham, AL
WCQR / Johnson City, TN
KLJY / St. Louis, MO
KXOJ Tulsa, OK
KBIQ / Colorado Springs, Co
Sirius-XM
Family Life Network
WWWA / Augusta, ME
WBYO / Sellersville, PA
WCTL / Erie, PA
WGRC / Williamsport, PA
WSCF / Ft. Pierce, FL
WCLN / Fayetteville, NC
WPER / Fredericksburg, VA
WQME / Indianapolis, IN
WBCL / Ft. Wayne, IN
WGNV / Wausau, WI
WHPZ / South Bend, IN
WWIB / Eau Claire, WI
KZKZ / Ft. Smith, AR
WCVK / Bowling Green, KY
KCVO / Columbia, MO
KGNZ / Abilene, TX
New Life Media
WBVM / Tampa, FL
WONU / Chicago, IL
WCRH / Bangor, ME
WJYO / Ft. Myers, FL
WOLW / Traverse City, MI
WLJN / Traverse City, TN
WHCB / Bristol, TN
KCBI / Dallas, TX
KYCC / Stockton, CA
American Family Radio
Family Life-KFLT
WBGL / Decatur/Champaign IL

As always, thank you for you support!

(meanwhile, I’m hard at work writing a few more songs for the next record… more on that later… 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2010 1:06 pm

    Thank you, I am the one that is blessed every time I listen to your music. I am glad that you found my post so that I could share my appreciation for your music with you.

    The concert was at a home in Northome and a few years after that you came back at Christmas time to a little old theater (and a Christmas tree fell on you while you were playing). I am not sure exactly when that was … maybe it was only 8 years ago? 10 years or 8, either way, it has been a long time since you have been to northern MN … we should do something about that.

    I can hardly wait to hear the new songs … any new acoustic ones?
    (my favorite songs are when it is just you and your guitar – guess first impressions are sometimes the strongest. I understand the need for the band/radio versions the younger crowds love … and I enjoy the variety and liveliness of them. However, in my opinion, “I Am New” extended acoustic version is great, too ;0)
    Thanks again for all of your music
    …. m&m

  2. Chris Carr permalink
    November 23, 2010 2:50 pm

    Thank you for your beautiful song I am New, it is like the arms of our Lord wrapping us in comfort, and then healed and renewed we can go forth and bring those blessings to others. Keep singing, you have an amazing artistry. Also loved the art work featured in the video!
    God Bless 🙂

  3. Jean E. Venner permalink
    December 4, 2010 10:04 am

    I really enjoyed the concert at Bon Air Baptist Church last night (Friday, December 3). I bought your CD with the song, “I Am New” on it. A weird thing happened when it ripped the CD to my media play on my computer. Although the songs are the ones listed on the album cover, and the ones you sing are correct (thank goodness), the list that comes up on my computer when they are ripped is as follows:
    Come
    Break This Heart
    Curiosity Killed the Cat
    The Garden
    Come to Me Again
    Leaving It All Behind
    The Letter
    Learning to Ride A Bike
    If You Lead Me
    Down in the Lowlands
    A Place Called Hope
    People Get Ready
    Track 13 (Unknown Artist)

    When I first saw that I was so disappointed, because I thought I wasn’t going to get the main song that I wanted. However, I’m no longer disappointed because you are singing the songs I want. Just a strange glitch I guess.

    Keep up your good work, and God Bless You! And Merry Christmas!

    In the grip of His grace,
    Jean Venner

  4. Vanessa permalink
    January 13, 2011 11:31 pm

    I heard your song Like falling in love. Never heard of you before. But the song touch the inner parts of me. It was saying what i was feeling. I was through with trying to be godly but denying the very power of God. I wanted a real love relationship.
    Your song I am new has been my anthem for this year. I play it at least 2 times everyday. I love the song. It reminds me daily that because I am in Christ, I am a new creature. As I have rededicated my life and has asked that God forgive me for some pretty terrible hidden sin. I believe I am new. That so much for this timely song

  5. January 28, 2011 10:33 pm

    Hi Jason. So what is the story behind the song? My husband and I have a ministry teaching the truths of this song through discipleship counseling. We love it! Wondered how God revealed these words to you.

Leave a Reply

